Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Sexologist Theories (Pg182)

"Sexologists' Theories of masculine, independent women being inverted men and not true women came right at the point in the nineteenth century when women began to have opportunities to live independently of men, which threatened the institution of marriage, since is women "gained all the freedom feminists agitated for, what would attract them to marriage?"


I believe that any woman who is independent is a strong woman. Nowadays we do not need men to survive. There are single mothers out there who can provide for themselves and their child or children without the help of a man. There are divorced or separated women who do not need a man to pay her bills or help her out. I would like to think of myself as an independent woman, although I have a boyfriend, I do not depend on him for everything I do. Of course it is nice to lean on someone else once in awhile and I thank God that he has blessed me with such a great guy, but at the same time I don't expect him to always be here. I like to be independent and do things on my own. Women have come so far from where we were. We are able to go to school and get an education, we can vote, and best of all we have freedom of speech and are able to speak our minds without being reprimanded for doing so. I think men nowadays find independent women attractive, no one wants a clingy wife or girlfriend. Just because we are independent or some of us may be more masculine than others, does not make us any less marriage material. I chose this picture of the "We Can Do It" poster because we can do anything we set our mind too. We do not need to be married to be considered a woman. How do you guys feel about the sexologists' theories?

Stereotyping (Pg43)

"Stereotyping is a natural human survival mechanism that is a generalization based on limited information, limited interaction, and limited experiences with a person, group, or situation. Stereotypes are simplified categorizations of a person, group, or situation. Many times stereotypes of people are negative or positive conceptions or images that are resorted to because of convenience... When we continue to hold to fixed stereotypes this can manifest itself in negatives ways through our decision making and our superficial interactions with others. Oftentimes, when a person maintains rigid negative stereotypes they are meant to discriminate and to keep a person or group at a distance."


Although stereotyping is a bad thing to do, I believe that everyone has done it at least once or more in their life. I admit that I have stereotyped people before and although we may not mean to do it or are not aware that we do it, we do it. For example when us girls see a guy or someone that may look suspicious walking towards us we try and get out of the way without being so obvious because we do not want anything to happen to us, without even knowing that they may be the sweetest person in the world. But we just like to stereotype the person based on looks before getting to really know them. Another popular stereotype is that all Hispanics are gardeners or cooks and only speak Spanish or that Asians are bad drivers but are really, really smart or that Black people are really loud and eat only fried chicken. All these things are stereotypes that over time we have become so ignorant to believe. Have you ever stereotyped someone? How do you feel about stereotypes?



Labels and Names (Pg 12)

"We often use labels and names to refer to ourselves and other people. Researchers have examined racial or ethnic identity labels and the meanings associated with them according to the ethnic members. Labels for various ethnic groups have been examined, such as African American, Black, Afro American (Hecht, Collier, Ribeau 1993), Hispanic, Latina/Latino, Chicana/Chicano, Mexican American (Tanno 2003), Whiteness (Nakayama and Krizek 1995). The politically correct term Native America is commonly used. Many, however identify themselves as American Indians, Indians, Nations and Tribes. The term Asian American is preferred and often used and has replaced the label Oriental".


Everyone one of us identifies ourselves differently depending on our culture and our race. For example my parents are Central American but they can also identify themselves as Honduran or Salvadorian. Also I can identify myself as American because I was born in the U.S, or I can also identify myself as Hispanic, Latina or even Central American due to my parent background. I do not mind being labeled these things because that is who I am and I am proud of my heritage. I do not like being labeled Mexican because I am not Mexican at all. People think that just because I have a tan complexion that I am Mexican. I have nothing against the Mexican race, but it just bothers me that some people are so ignorant and just assume that because I have brown skin that automatically makes me Mexican. Before I jump to conclusions about a persons race or ethnicity, I always like to ask them where they are from instead of just assuming or trying to guess where they are from or what ethnicity they label themselves as. I decided to put up three flags that I use to label myself. The Honduran flag, the Salvadorian flag and the American flag. What do you label yourselves as?





Uses of Nigga (Pg 167)

The term "nigga" is normatively used among Black friends, rather than with Black and non-Black strangers. Everybody had their own [terms] in every race, something that they are allowed to call each other and not be disrespected... "The term also signifies close friendship, cultural awareness, or fearlessness (Smitherman 1994)." 


I personally do not like the term "nigga" or "nigger" and I would never use no matter who I am talking to or talking about. It is true what they say though, that every race has their own terms tha they identify with and does not disrespect them. For example mexicans call themselves beaners or asians may call say they are f.o.b's (fresh of the boat). I've noticed that Its okay for people within the same race to call each other by these names but if anyone outside of their race calls them that, they feel offended. The same way as if anyone who wasn't Black came up to a someone who was  and said "what up ma nigga?" The black guy or girl would probably give the person a very dirty look and not respond, however if someone from the same Black race said that they would probably give them a handshake and begin in some kind of conversation. It's something that we must all be aware of. We can't just go up to whoever we want and try to act in the same manner, because although we may say something or do something with good intentions, the others may not see it like that and they may take in the wrong way and get offended. How do you feel about the word nigga?


Etymological and Historical Background of Lesbians

Krafft-Ebing (pg 181) 
    Was one of the first physicians to research lesbianism, naming it "uranism"  and concluded that it was a genetic disease of the nervous system leading to insanity and could be detected in women who had nontraditional interest such as science and sports instead of the arts.
Freud (pg 182)
     Unlike Ebing, he did not consider lesbianism to be a disease or perversion, instead he believed it was an immature development that was extremely difficult if not impossible to reverse. 

The topic of homosexuality is something very controversial nowadays. I do not believe in either of their views. Homosexuality is not a disease or an immature development, it is just a way of life that some choose. Although I do not agree with the "gay life style" I do not discriminate against anyone who chooses to live their way like that. Although I do not know anyone who is a lesbian I do have a gay guy cousin and I love him just the way he is. When we found out that he was gay it was kind of shock to our family but no one ever made him feel bad because at the end of the day he's still our family and we are going to love and support each other no matter what. Although they do face discrimination on a day to day basis, some homosexuals always have their families to fall back on and that is why I chose this video to show. Although the children our young, they are aware that they have two mothers and that in no way, shape or form bothers them at all. How do you guys feel about lesbians and homosexuality?